2025 Synod Assembly Elections Information: Description of Open Positions

During the 2025 Synod Assembly, we will be electing people to serve as members of **Synod Council**, the **Committee on Discipline**, and the **Consultation Committee**.

If you are interested in serving in one of these roles, or would like to nominate someone, <u>complete the online</u> <u>nomination form found here</u>. The deadline for nominations is **April 1, 2025.**

Questions? Email susan@lutheransnw.org.

Synod Council

The synod council typically meets every 2 months. The Synod Council is the board of directors of this synod, serving as the legislative authority between meetings of the Synod Assembly. Additional leadership functions include trusteeship responsibilities on behalf of this synod; recommending program goals and budgets; carrying out resolutions of the Synod Assembly; etc. Term length is three years (ending in 2028) unless otherwise noted. (Full description in Chapter 10 of the Synod Constitution.)

- Rostered Minister (deacon or pastor)
- Lay Woman
- Lay Man PC/L (PC/L = person of color or whose primary language is other than English)
- Lay Man

Committee on Discipline

The Committee on Discipline of this synod consists of 12 persons, of whom six shall be rostered ministers (pastors or deacons) and six shall be laypersons, who are elected by the Synod Assembly for a term of six years without consecutive re-election. Members of this committee may be called to participate in a hearing when charges are brought against governing officers, ministers of Word and Sacrament, ministers of Word and Service, congregations, and/or members of a congregation. (Thankfully, members of this committee are rarely called upon.) (Full description in Chapter 20 of the Constitution, Bylaws, and Continuing Resolutions of the ELCA.)

- 2 Rostered Ministers, (deacon or pastor) terms ending 2031
- 2 Lay Persons, terms ending 2031

Consultation Committee

The Consultation Committee consists of 12 persons, of whom half shall be ministers of word and sacrament and half shall be laypersons. These members are elected by the Synod Assembly for a term of 6 years without consecutive re-election. When there is disagreement among factions within a congregation on a substantive issue that cannot be resolved by the parties, members of a congregation shall have access to the synodical bishop for consultation after informing the chair of the Congregation Council of their intent. If the consultation fails to resolve the issue(s), the Consultation Committee of this synod shall consider the matter. (Thankfully, members of this committee are rarely called upon.) (Full description in Chapter 20 of the ELCA Constitution and Chapter 17 of the Synod Constitution.)

- 2 Rostered Ministers, (deacon or pastor) terms ending 2031
- 2 Lay Persons, terms ending 2031